What I Want Future Teachers to Know About Students with Disabilities

Emily Ladau writes at Words I Wheel By. A recent post has relevance for all of us who work with students with disabilities whether we’re a newbie to the field or an old hand, whether it be in elementary, secondary or post-secondary education.


One of my favorite things about writing on disability is that it ignites conversations and sparks perspective shifts (both mine and others) in seemingly endless ways. Recently, I got an email from someone I connected with last year at a conference, and the questions she asked got my wheels turning. I knew I wanted to respond in a blog post. I hope that sharing my answers will in turn open a dialogue for other people to share their thoughts on the subject.

The email read:

“Since we met last year at the AUCD conference, I have completed my PhD and landed my first assistant professor job. I am writing because I would like your input on how to address vocabulary with my students. I am a certified ‘special’ education teacher. Textbooks for my courses have either ‘special’ or ‘exceptional’ in the titles. The laws and legislation include the same vocabulary. From your perspective, how can I address the ‘special’ vocabulary? What are the three (or more) main concepts/ideas/philosophies you want preservice teachers to know? What advice do you have for me as I prepare future educators? Thank you, Emily. I look forward to hearing from you.”

To read the full post: What I Want Future Teachers to Know About Students with Disabilities

About WINAHEAD

WINAHEAD is made up of representatives from twenty-nine institutions. Our members are professionals employed by two- and four-year colleges and universities who work directly with students with disabilities to ensure equal access to higher education. WIN indicates the geographic area we represent: Western Iowa and Nebraska. AHEAD is our national parent organization, the Association on Higher Education and Disability.
This entry was posted in Disability and Society, Students with Disabilities and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.